Saturday, January 2, 2010

v/a: "Cottage Cheese From The Lips Of Death" compilation LP

This is an essential piece of Texas punk/hardcore history, released in 1983. This compilation is a solid look into what was happening in Texas in the early 80's, with bands from Austin, San Antonio, Houston and Dallas all well represented. A second version exists with a different Butthole Surfers song.

1983 Ward-9 Records

1. Really Red "Nobody Rules"
2. D.R.I. "Runnin' Around"
3. The Offenders "Fight Back"
4. Mydolls "Soldiers Of A Pure War"
5. Not For Sale "Bread And Bombs"
6. Big Boys "The Big Picture"
7. Prenatal Lust "Entertainment Tonight"
8. Stick Men With Ray Guns "Christian Rat Attack"
9. Hugh Beaumont Experience "Moo"
10. Marching Plague "Rock & Roll Asshole"
11. Butthole Surfers "I Hate My Job"
12. Bang Gang "Dickhead"
13. Dicks "Gilbeau"
14. Watchtower "Meltdown"


  1. I've been trying to find a copy of this album forever. These mp3s will fill the void until that glorious day. Thank you.

  2. This inspired me to look again on GEMM, and my copy just shipped today! Thanks, bro.

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

  4. The Stick Men With Ray Guns (SMWRG) song Christian Rat Attack was censored without our knowledge or permission by the owner of the studio prior to the album's release. The spoken word intro was removed and the entire song was remixed to bury the controversial lyrics in echo. The tape containing the original mix was stolen for us by Gibby Haynes and appears on the SMWRG 2002 CD release Some People Deserve to Suffer. Long out of print on CD, it is currently available for digital download on iTunes, Amazon MP3, Spotify, and outlets worldwide.

  5. Thanks for the heads up on that, Clarke. I heard the same thing from someone else. Why even bother putting that on the compilation if one was that doofus from the studio you mentioned? Unbelievable.